A How-To Guide to Dining at a Brazilian Steakhouse

I’ve concluded that if I could select any of the seven deadly sins to die from, I’d go with gluttony. First off, who’d want to die of sloth?? Or be such an angry person that you’d die of wrath? But gluttony? You got to admit, there’s some merit to it.

And while I’m being selective over how I die, I’d like to further narrow how I pass gluttonously by choosing to have that glutton be at the hands of a gaucho at a Brazilian steakhouse. If you’re a carnivore like me, you know exactly what I’m talking about.

Brazilian steakhouses, known by other names like rodizio or churrascaria, have become my obsession. While I pretend to watch my health and fitness levels as I get ready for my wedding, the true heart of the matter is that I can’t get away from some of life’s pleasures – like red meat. So last night I dined at the brand-new churrascaria in Fort Lauderdale, Texas de Brazil. It opened last week to family and friends of the staff, and this week it is getting an onslaught of media helpings.

As I drove to the restaurant last night, ironically I went past Sublime, the vegan restaurant off Federal Highway, where I had the sudden urge to yelp “ha-ha!” as I zoomed by. Boy, did it feel good that I didn’t have to subject myself to a meal there that night! Red meat, here I come!

I should have probably prefaced my blog by saying I know a thing or two about a rodizios. I lived in Brazil for an entire summer and have been back two times since. While there, I got to taste the best of the best of rodizios. Porcao (both in Rio and Ipanema) is a memorable restaurant, both in company and in menu items.

So it’s always with great satisfaction when I hear a rodizio opened up in my neck of the woods. I compare; I contrast; and I stuff myself. And when I found out Texas de Brazil was opening up across from the Galleria Mall, I made sure to book a reservation – and eat the lightest of lunches beforehand.

Brazilians take their meats seriously. They groom cattle and are a large distributor to the world’s beef industry. The idea of rodizios got started with the idea of churrasco-style of cooking done by the “cowboys” of the region Rio Grande do Sul. I stayed in the area’s capital, Porto Alegre, back in 2003. The cowboys, or gauchos (pronounced gaa-U-shoos; do not pronounce like the Spanish version GAO-chos), would cook their meats over open fire like a barbecue. And from there, my life’s goal of dining in a restaurant where servers walk around with skewers of medium-rare meat was born. Yum.

Check out the video below. From my years of professional eating experience, I bring to you my how-to-guide to dining at a Brazilian steakhouse – without dying of gluttony.

3 responses to “A How-To Guide to Dining at a Brazilian Steakhouse

  1. One of my few regrets was not going to a Brazilian Steakhouse while still in South Florida. I can’t remember the name but there is one with a tree growing in it off of Las Olas that I was told was the best quite a few times. Still kickin myself for not going.

    • Michael,

      The next time you’re in South Florida, I’ll be sure we take you to Chima (that Brazilian restaurant on Las Olas). Thanks for the comment!

  2. Pingback: What to do this weekend « slightlyunedited·

Leave a Reply

