What to do this weekend

As a member of the press, I’m fortunate enough to be treated to a few privileges. I’m pretty thankful for them (even more thankful is my fiance, who is always my “plus 1”). This week I was treated super-well and want to pass my recommendations to you. If you’re not busy this weekend, below’s what I recommend you do. (And yes, these recommendations are ranked from highest to lowest.)

1. See Cirque du Soleil’s Alegria
One word: Baller. Two words: Super-baller. I usually reserve the word “baller” (and its various iterations) for something that’s equally mind-blowing and mind-altering. This is one of those times.

Cirque’s Alegria is currently playing at the BankAtlantic Center until the end of July, and if you watch any show, it should be this one. There are various acts of the physical caliber you expect from Cirque: acrobats, oddly bent Chinese women performing acts in unison, trapeze artists who fly around and into each others’ arms, and more mind-blowing performances. But there’s also the less physical – but perhaps more entertaining – acts, including the clowns who use their quick wit and acting skills to make a performance that’s even ore memorable than the acrobats.

2. Eat at Texas de Brazil
Ah, yes. Another rodizio expedition. See my guide here.

3. See “Mamma Mia!” at the Broward Center for Performing Arts
How does one not like ABBA? The performances are decent – nothing that’s baller or anything – but the songs are what everyone go to see. Sophie’s good in this show – lovable with a good voice. But hurry… the show’s only playing until this Sunday.

One response to “What to do this weekend

  1. Hey there! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to
    give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your blog posts.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same subjects? Thank you!

Leave a Reply

