A Labor of Love

For most all of us, we work. Putting it simply, we work, we make money, and then we do it all over again the next day. Some like their jobs more than others. And for me, I love what I do. Being a journalist and editor has given me opportunities that I never thought a small-town girl from the deep ol’ South would ever receive.

I get to meet people who inspire me and teach me about themselves and their industries. I went into journalism to try and benefit the reader with great stories and details. However, in a twist, I find that I am the one who is learning the most.

So far, 2012 has been a benchmark year for many reasons in my career as a journalist. Likewise, being a journalist for a lifestyle magazine basically means I get to see all types of industries and people, and not be segmented into one. Here’s a sneak peak into what I do, broken down with iPhone photos.

INTERVIEWS
I love interviewing people. It’s more because I enjoy meeting people and hearing their stories. I’ve learned the best type of journalist is one who shuts up and listens to his or her subject (TIP: Never trust a talkative reporter), and it’s been incredibly humbling shutting up and hearing the ways in which so many of my interview subjects have found success. A lot are rags to riches stories, a lot more are just through hard work and determination, but every single story is inspiring.

Randy Starks

I’m a pretty huge sports fan, so any opportunity to interview and feature a pro athlete is an exciting one for me. Here are behind-the-scenes looks at our photo shoot of Dolphin DT Randy Starks, to be published in one of our fall issues. We photographed and interviewed Randy at the W Fort Lauderdale, a posh spot for an equally posh dude.

Jozy Altidore

Another fantastic sports interview was Jozy Altidore, a striker for the U.S. Men’s National Team and current star in the Netherlands. We photographed Jozy, a Boca boy, right at Mizner Park.

Anquan Boldin

Anquan Boldin easily has to be one of my favorite NFL receivers. Intelligent, hard-working and just a beast on the field, I was able to meet him at a charity event (pictured here at the Prep and Sports kick-off party) and finally interview him a few days later.

Ted Gibson

Contrary to popular belief (i.e., the belief that I want to beef up my flag football team), I interview subjects beyond professional athletes. One of my favorite ones this year has been Ted Gibson, the celebrity hair stylist who recently opened up his namesake salon in Fort Lauderdale. The man is a genius when it comes to hair. He fixed my hair up, and at the end of the appointment, I told him he made me look like I had “white people” hair. Now that’s pretty good!

TRAVEL
Who doesn’t love to travel? I certainly enjoy it. With my job, I get sent all over the state and the world. Here are some of my more memorable trips this year.

Europe

Monte Carlo has never looked so beautiful as it had from the 15th deck of a premium cruise ship. I was fortunate enough to be asked to attend the maiden voyage of Oceania’s Riviera, report about it and cruise around the Mediterranean Sea. How cool is that?

Marco Island

I had always wanted to go Marco Island. A native Floridian, I couldn’t believe it took this long to finally make it there. Here’s one of the coolest fish tanks, located in Marco Island, I’ve ever seen.

The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach, is easily one of the nicest hotels in all of Miami Beach. I’ve stayed there twice for media events, and I’ve enjoyed every bit of it. The lobby (pictured here) is a perfect prelude to the rest of the hotel: chic, sophisticated and luxurious.

FOOD + DRINK
Everybody eats. And with so many awesome restaurants out there, and so many more new ones popping up, it’s my job to try them all. Here are a few of my favorite dishes.

Royal Pig Pub

Chicken wings (with brown sugar brine and jerk seasoning) from the recently opened The Royal Pig

The Foxy Brown

The Breakfast Sandwich (sunny-side-up egg, pickles, pork belly) at The Foxy Brown with a side of spinach

Stephane’s

The Polar-Granate Martini is a liquid nitrogen-infused drink served at Stephane’s.

GOODIES

We test out of a lot of products in order to properly feature ones in our magazines. Which is just a polite way of saying: We get sent a lot of awesome beauty and lifestyle products. Some recent ones include a gorgeous MAC red lipstick, Caldrea laundry products and a bagful of items from The Gardens Mall to celebrate Fashion’s Night Out.

AWARDS
You don’t go into this industry for the awards. If you do, you’re in it for the wrong reason. But, if you end up getting a few, that’s just cherry on top.

Our magazine team won three awards at the recent Charlie Awards, given by the Florida Magazine Association.

So that’s my job in a nutshell (or at least in iPhone photos). I’m really fortunate, that I know. On this Labor Day, I find it incredibly appropriate to note that, while some assignments are easier that others, it’s really not all that laborious of a job when you love it.


Leave a Reply

