Tunnel to Tower Run

What a vision to see at dusk: the American flag waving proudly. This flag was hanging from two fire truck cranes in between downtown Fort Lauderdale’s skyscrapers.

For my first-ever traditional 5K*, I couldn’t have picked a better run to participate in. This morning I ran the Stephen Siller Tunnel to Towers Run in Fort Lauderdale, one of the many runs in memory of the firefighter, Stephen Siller. Even though I’m not an experienced runner, it didn’t take much convincing to get me to do this race.

Siller, a NYC firefighter who risked him life to respond to the 9/11 emergency calls at the World Trade Center, and his memory came alive today. Hundreds of runners ran or walked today to commemorate the life he gave.

I’ve been training for next week’s 195-mile Ragnar Relay in San Francisco/Napa Valley, maxing out at 5-mile training runs (which I have NEVER ran continuously in my entire life before), so I felt pretty comfortable when I signed up to run this 5K (3.1 miles). To be honest, I never thought I’d do back-to-back organized races. But here I go.

This race started in Huizenga Plaza in downtown Fort Lauderdale and we even ran through the Henry E. Kinney Tunnel. I ran 29:03, a FAR pejorative time compared to my other friends (21:20, 22:49, 22:47), but I’m just glad I finished sub-30 minutes. Even more, I’m glad to have contributed to the memory of a great man and the cause that we’re memorializing.

Our running group at the start line

Me with my friend Axel, who reached his running goal of just over 7 minutes/mile.

Sometimes the best part of the race is the finish – and the yummy prizes that await you. Here’s a much-appreciated tent from Whole Foods, filled with croissants, bananas, orange slices and granola bars.

I finished in a miraculous 29:03 (pictured here is my watch at 29:16, which I failed to stop in time for the photo op), probably not an impressive time to many, but it works for me.

Downtown Fort Lauderdale has never looked so beautiful.

*Last year I completed Warrior Dash (read about my experience here), a 5K that’s filled with obstacles (so I got plenty of breaks in between the runs).

One response to “Tunnel to Tower Run

  1. Pingback: On the Run | slightly unedited·

Leave a Reply

